About the Department of Psychology

The department was established in 1997-1998 within the humanities departments in the College of Education, and its teaching and administrative staff consisted of (3) teachers holding a doctorate degree, and (3) teachers holding a master’s degree with academic titles ranging from one teacher with a professor’s degree to (2) With the grade of teacher and (3) with the grade of assistant teacher, in addition to assistant staff for free education and the department secretariat.

The department accepted the outputs of the preparatory stage students from both the scientific and human specializations, where their number ranged to about (30) male and female students. - 2001 AD.

 


Graduate studies were opened in the department in the academic year (2001-2002 AD) at the level of master’s and doctorate degrees in the specialization of curricula and teaching methods, and the first batch of master’s students in the specialty of teaching methods was accepted in the academic year 2002-2003, with a number of (10) master’s students and ( 3) a PhD in curricula and teaching methods as well.

 

 

 


   At the beginning of the academic year 2008-2009, the teaching staff in the department reached 14 teachers, with (10 Ph.D.) and (4 Master’s), and postgraduate studies were reopened for the 2006-2007 academic year with the specialization of psychological counseling and programs, as the number of students reached (10) students. At the rate of (7) females and (3) males, postgraduate studies have been reopened for the academic year 2011-2012 in the specialist of teaching methods and educational psychology and at the level of a master's degree.

 

 

 

   The department has clearly contributed to providing service and scientific and educational advice to community institutions represented by the Social Welfare Department, the Basra Governorate Education Directorate, the Basra Orphans and Widows Foundation, the Martyrs Foundation and civil society organizations.

 


   The department’s scientific outputs are received by the community institutions represented by the institutes for preparing male and female teachers, schools of mental retardation, institutes for the deaf and dumb, the adult and juvenile reform department, and social welfare homes.

نبذة عن قسم علم النفس

    تأسس القسم في عام 1997-1998  ضمن أقسام الإنسانيات في كلية التربية، وتألف كادره التدريسي والإداري من (3) تدريسيين من حملة شهادة الدكتوراه، و(3) تدريسيين من حملة شهادة الماجستير وبألقاب علمية تراوحت ما بين تدريسي واحد بدرجة أستاذ و(2) بدرجة مدرس و(3) بدرجة مدرس مساعد، بالإضافة إلى موظفين مساعدين للتعليم المجاني وسكرتارية القسم.

 

وقبل القسم مخرجات طلبة المرحلة الإعدادية من كلا التخصصين العلمي والإنساني حيث تراوح عددهم بحدود (30) طالباً وطالبة، ثم استمرت الدراسة في القسم بانسيابية واضحة وسليمة على مدار سنوات الدراسة اللاحقة، وقد تخرجت الوجبة الأولى في القسم على مستوى الدراسة الجامعية الأولية في العام الدراسي 2000- 2001م .

 

 

 

 

فتحت الدراسات العليا في القسم في العام الدراسي ( 2001-2002 م) وعلى مستوى شهاداتي الماجستير والدكتوراه في تخصص المناهج وطرائق التدريس، وقبلت الدفعة الأولى من طلبة الماجستير في تخصص طرائق التدريس في العام الدراسي 2002-2003م، وبواقع (10) طلاب للماجستير و (3) من الدكتوراه في المناهج وطرائق التدريس أيضاً.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   وقد بلغ الكادر التدريسي في القسم مع بداية العام الدراسي 2008-2009م  (14) تدريسياً بواقع (10 دكتوراه) و( 4 ماجستير)، وقد أُعيد فتح الدراسات العليا للعام الدراسي 2006-2007م بتخصص الإرشاد النفسي والبرامج إذ  بلغ عدد الطلبة (10) طلاب بواقع (7) إناث و( 3) ذكور، وقد أُعيد فتح الدراسات العليا للعام الدراسي 2011-2012م في اختصاصيّ طرائق التدريس وعلم النفس التربويّ وعلى مستوى شهادة الماجستير.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   ساهم القسم بصورة واضحة في تقديم الخدمة والمشورة العلمية والتربوية لمؤسسات المجتمع ممثلة بدائرة الرعاية الاجتماعية ومديرية تربية محافظة البصرة ومؤسسة الأيتام والأرامل في البصرة ومؤسسة الشهداء ومنظمات المجتمع المدني.

 

 

 

 

   مخرجات القسم العلمية تستقبلهم مؤسسات المجتمع والمتمثلة بمعاهد إعداد المعلمين والمعلمات، ومدارس التخلف العقلي، ومعاهد الصم والبكم،  ودائرة إصلاح الكبار والأحداث ودور الرعاية الاجتماعية.